The Importance of Being Interested

£10.99

***A Waterstones Best Paperback of 2022 pick***Perfect for fans of Radio 4’s The Infinite Monkey Cage and Professor Brian Cox.’A delightful and scintillating hymn to science.’ Professor Carlo RovelliComedian Robin Ince quickly abandoned science at school, bored by a fog of dull lessons and intimidated by the barrage of equations. But, twenty years later, he fell in love and he now presents one of the world’s most popular science podcasts. Every year he meets hundreds of the world’s greatest thinkers.In this erudite and witty book, Robin reveals why scientific wonder isn’t just for the professionals. Filled with interviews featuring astronauts, comedians, teachers, quantum physicists, neuroscientists and more – as well as charting Robin’s own journey with science – The Importance of Being Interested explores why many wrongly think of the discipline as distant and difficult. From the glorious appeal of the stars above to why scientific curiosity can encourage much needed intellectual humility, this optimistic and profound book will leave you filled with a thirst for intellectual adventure.

Out of stock

Description

***A Waterstones Best Paperback of 2022 pick***Perfect for fans of Radio 4’s The Infinite Monkey Cage and Professor Brian Cox.’A delightful and scintillating hymn to science.’ Professor Carlo RovelliComedian Robin Ince quickly abandoned science at school, bored by a fog of dull lessons and intimidated by the barrage of equations. But, twenty years later, he fell in love and he now presents one of the world’s most popular science podcasts. Every year he meets hundreds of the world’s greatest thinkers.In this erudite and witty book, Robin reveals why scientific wonder isn’t just for the professionals. Filled with interviews featuring astronauts, comedians, teachers, quantum physicists, neuroscientists and more – as well as charting Robin’s own journey with science – The Importance of Being Interested explores why many wrongly think of the discipline as distant and difficult. From the glorious appeal of the stars above to why scientific curiosity can encourage much needed intellectual humility, this optimistic and profound book will leave you filled with a thirst for intellectual adventure.

Additional information

Weight 0.343 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 2.9 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

xvi, 384

Language

English

Edition
Dewey

500 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K