Build Your House Around My Body

£8.99

 

‘Fantastic’ The Sunday Times * ‘Beautiful, brilliant, powerful’ Madeline Miller, bestselling author of Circe

Part ghost story, part searing exploration of Vietnam’s colonial past, Violet Kupersmith’s debut novel is a must read for fans of Cecile Pin, NoViolet Bulowayo or Ruth Ozeki 

Two young Vietnamese women go missing decades apart. Both are fearless, both are lost. And both will have their revenge.

1986: The teenage daughter of a wealthy Vietnamese family gets lost in an abandoned rubber plantation while fleeing her angry father, and is forever changed by the experience. 

2011: Twenty-five years later, a young, unhappy Vietnamese-American disappears from her new home in Saigon without a trace.

The fates of both women are inescapably linked, bound together by past generations, by ghosts and ancestors, by the history of possessed bodies and possessed lands. Violet Kupersmith’s heart-pounding fever dream of a novel hurtles through the ghostly secrets of Vietnamese history to create an immersive, playful, utterly unforgettable debut.

‘Fiction as daring and accomplished as Violet Kupersmith’s first novel reignites my love of the form and its kaleidoscopic possibilities’ David Mitchell, author of Cloud Atlas 

 

Out of stock

Description

 

‘Fantastic’ The Sunday Times * ‘Beautiful, brilliant, powerful’ Madeline Miller, bestselling author of Circe

Part ghost story, part searing exploration of Vietnam’s colonial past, Violet Kupersmith’s debut novel is a must read for fans of Cecile Pin, NoViolet Bulowayo or Ruth Ozeki 

Two young Vietnamese women go missing decades apart. Both are fearless, both are lost. And both will have their revenge.

1986: The teenage daughter of a wealthy Vietnamese family gets lost in an abandoned rubber plantation while fleeing her angry father, and is forever changed by the experience. 

2011: Twenty-five years later, a young, unhappy Vietnamese-American disappears from her new home in Saigon without a trace.

The fates of both women are inescapably linked, bound together by past generations, by ghosts and ancestors, by the history of possessed bodies and possessed lands. Violet Kupersmith’s heart-pounding fever dream of a novel hurtles through the ghostly secrets of Vietnamese history to create an immersive, playful, utterly unforgettable debut.

‘Fiction as daring and accomplished as Violet Kupersmith’s first novel reignites my love of the form and its kaleidoscopic possibilities’ David Mitchell, author of Cloud Atlas 

 

Additional information

Weight 0.352 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 3.5 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

378

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

813.6 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Build Your House Around My Body
ISBN 9780861542147 Category Tags ,